James O'Neill's Blog

March 21, 2011

What’s in my PowerShell profile (1) WhatHas

Filed under: How to,Powershell — jamesone111 @ 10:01 am

This shows simple use of Select-String – which is such a great tool it deserves a long piece – but  I’ve been saying for I while I would write up the functions I have in my profile: so for now I’m just going to show how I use Select-String  there

I keep everything in the Profile.PS1 under Documents\WindowsPowerShell. PowerShell  reads additional user and system-wide profiles depending on whether you start the console version or the ISE version but I ignore these.

In modules or anything that might get used in another script, I follow the proper verb-noun naming conventions;  but for utility functions in the profile I just use short names.  WhatHas is one of 3 short name / profile functions I have, its  job is to find which of my scripts contain(s) something or some things. I use it when I need either to fix something found in multiple files, or to remind myself how I used something in the past in order to use it in something new: I can type
WhatHas reflection
And get a listing of all the places I’ve used [System.Reflection.Assembly]::LoadWithPartialName
showing the file, line number and line itself:  Here’s the code

Function whatHas {
    param ( [Parameter(ValueFromPipeLine=$true,Mandatory=$true)]$pattern, 
            $fileSpec="*.ps1",
           
[Switch]$recurse
      
   )
  Process { $( if ($recurse) { dir -recurse -include $fileSpec} 
               else  { dir $fileSpec} ) |
           
 select-string -Pattern $pattern }
          }
}

Originally I only had two parameters: a –recurse switch choses which form of DIR gets used (I really should use Get-ChildItem rather than DIR or LS somehow I’m happier with DIR),  the files it returns and what every was passed in –pattern are fed into Select-String – which accepts arrays for the pattern so I don’t have to do anything  to support searching for multiple patterns with
WhatHas reflection,assembly
The fileSpec was originally hard coded to "*.ps1" but I realized I might want to search .TXT or .XML files so I made that the default for a parameter instead.
I’m getting in the habit of allowing the “main” parameter of a function to be piped in – making the function body a Process {} block ensures each item piped is processed. 

The output looks like this:

PS C:\Users\James\Documents\windowsPowershell> whathas test-path

hyperv.ps1:236:   If (test-path $VHDPath) {
hypervR2.ps1:236:   If (test-path $VHDPath) {
profile.ps1:6:        if (test-path $path) {

So for the “how to use” case I can often copy what I want from the output and paste it into what I’m working on. For the “need to fix” case I might want to pipe the output into something else, and I’ll look at what that might be in the next post

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

