James O'Neill's Blog

June 3, 2009

A few interesting links.

Filed under: Uncategorized — jamesone111 @ 5:04 pm

I’ve got a little bit of a backlog of links which I’ve been meaning to talk about: usually I like to write a bit more than what I have below, but if I don’t clear off some of the things have been sitting as open tabs in IE8 for a while, I’ll never get round to it.

Talking about windows a series of short videos with interesting folk from the product team and some IT professionals.

One of those was about Energy efficiency – Darren sent me a link to this post of Rob’s which links to a webcast Improving Energy Efficiency with Windows 7 Power Management (it also has a link to a white paper on the same subject)

Some great customizations to Windows 7 Media center (Thanks to Sarah for the Link to that)

IEHist – a tool to dump out the history from internet explorer (ready to analyze in Powershell of course)

Since I mention PowerShell – I’m constantly impressed by Quest’s PowerGUI even though I don’t use it much. Jonathan took my Twitter powerShell scripts and turned them into a Power Pack for PowerGUI.

Xbox stuff announced at E3 ( The video of Forza Motor Sport 3 looked stunning it seems to have a film making mode Halo 3 ODST  out at the same time, with Halo reach for next year and I’m still left staggered by project Natal)

A Nice example of using Live Bing Maps for data visualization. Which constituencies have MPs which claim most expenses

And three which aren’t about Microsoft technology

A good piece on the importance of aesthetics

A rather unusual IM conversation with a scammer

Smashing apps have not one, not two but three pages of “Brilliant photos which look like they are photoshopped but aren’t”

This post originally appeared on my technet blog.

Blog at WordPress.com.

