James O'Neill's Blog

May 16, 2008

iSCSI, clustering and Hyper-V

Filed under: How to,Virtualization,Windows Server,Windows Server 2008 — jamesone111 @ 8:22 pm

One of the things I’ve been saying I’d blog for a while is how to set up a cluster on Hyper-V. Since Hyper-V does not support sharing SCSI disks between machines, you need to use iSCSI – which is all fine and good if you’re doing it in production with real workloads and a proper budget; but a bit of a pain if you’re doing it in a lab or training environment. Inside Microsoft I can get what I need courtesy of storage server, but what about the rest of the world ? There are several  iSCSI products with free evaluation versions so I was going to try a couple out, document them and post the results. Well my colleague in Ireland Gavin McShera, has saved me the trouble, with a blog post which explains it all. Once you’ve set-up iSCSI you Gavin links to the article on setting up a 2 node file serving cluster and you can see how easy clustering really is in 2008.

This post originally appeared on my technet blog.

The Rubric Theme Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

